Doris Lessing With Nobel Prize for Literature

Doris Lessing the author of "The Golden Notebook," won this years Nobel Prize for literature.

Many critics consider the choice surprising, but not the author herself: "I've won all the prizes in Europe, every bloody one, so I'm delighted to win them all", said Lessing, whose previous honors include the James Tait Black Memorial Book Prize and the W.H. Smith Literary Award. "It's a royal flush."

The Nobel prize for literature for 1996 was given to the Turkish author Orhan Pamuk and another English writer and playwright the year before that – Harold Pinter.

There are always happy and unhappy faces, when it comes to prizes. What is important is for Library Blog Buzz to keep an eye on what is happening in the literature world, not only the technology one.

To see all the Nobel Prize winners for literature click on the Nobel Foundation website.

Via: CNN

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s